How to Delete Your POF Account

Batja Huisman
5
min read

The intense love connection between dating apps and data leaks is nothing new with the most popular apps out there making headlines, including POF, Tinder, Grindr, Bumble, and OkCupid. But deleting the app from your phone doesn't delete your account and sensitive data.

Delete POF Account

Not just dating apps: Don’t be part of the next data leak.

The best way to minimize digital risks is to keep your data only where you need it. With Mine, you can discover which companies are holding your personal data and exercise your data rights by deleting it from services you no longer use.

Delete POF

Delete yourself from POF and other apps you no longer use.

With a <nofollow>Mine account<nofollow>, you can easily delete your POF account and personal data from POF and other companies.ֿ

Delete POF Account

To delete your POF profile manually:

Prefer to delete your Plenty of Fish account manually? Here’s how:

  1. Log in one last time using the app or the website.
  2. At the top of the first screen, click ‘Help.’
  3. Choose the ‘Remove Profile’ option.
  4. Take a deep breath and click ‘Delete your POF profile.’
  5. Enter your username and password
  6. If you want, you may share your reason for leaving.
  7. That’s it. You did it. You are out of this pond!

Another simple option would be to use your <nofollow>Mine account<nofollow> to delete your dating account and all data from POF or other apps you no longer want holding your personal information.

Got any other questions about this topic? We’ve covered a few right here!

Plenty of data: Has POF ever experienced a data leak?

The POF app, which reminds daters that there are plenty of options out there, but some of them might stink a little, is part of the Match Group and has more than 150 million users in over 20 countries. In 2019, the app experienced a serious data breach and leaked information categorized as “private” by users. For this and perhaps other reasons, we can see that the search query “how to delete Plenty of Fish account” has been trending on Google.

How to Delete Your POF Account

Hide and seek: Should you delete or hide your profile?

There’s a difference between freezing your dating profile and deleting it. Many apps allow users to put their accounts on hold and make themselves invisible to other daters. This is a great option for those of you who started dating someone, and while it’s going well (fingers crossed!), you’re still not sure you’ve found the one worth deleting your meticulously written profile for. It’s crucial to keep in mind the data privacy implications of hiding a profile instead of deleting it. As long as you’re a registered user, the app can still access your data. Other daters might not be able to see you, but the app sure can.

Take me back! Can I get back into the online dating business after deleting my account?

You’ve changed your mind. It happens to the best of us! Maybe the person you were dating didn’t turn out to be the one; maybe the break you took from dating worked so well that you’re ready to jump back in the water. What matters is that you want your dating profile back after deleting it.

We have good news and bad news. The bad news is that most dating sites have no way to recover a profile you’ve deleted. It makes sense because otherwise, they would still have access to your data. The good news is that the last relationship or break from dating made you more focused than ever, and your new profile will land you that everlasting love (or fun weekend) you’re after. You can then go back to the previous section of this article and delete your account again – this time for good!  

Online dating apps and data ownership technology make it easier to choose when and how to make yourself available for dating. Decide for yourself if you feel comfortable enough to give access to your data and your heart.

Wondering who else might still hold your personal data? Looking to delete your data from other apps that you no longer use? Check out Mine to discover all the companies that are holding your data in 30 seconds.