How to delete your TikTok account

Batja Huisman
2
min read

With more than two billion downloads globally and 100 million monthly active US users, TikTok is now one of the world’s leading social networks. The app manages to reach these impressive stats despite being permanently banned in India, a country responsible for some of the world’s biggest users of social networks.

But the video-based network also faces backlash related to online privacy issues, which cause users (or some of their parents) to delete their accounts. <hl>If you’ve decided to say goodbye to your TikTok account, we’ll show you how to do it in this article.<hl>

TikTok

The technical steps: How to delete your TikTok account

  1. Tap the “me” profile button located in the bottom-right corner.
  2. Tap the ellipsis symbol in the top-right corner to open the menu.
  3. Tap “Manage my account.”
  4. Tap “Delete account.”
  5. Confirm your decision by tapping “Delete Account” again.

To continue managing your data, visit your <nofollow>Mine account<nofollow>, where you’ll find a list of all the companies that have access to your personal information. Here you can easily send a deletion request to any company you don’t want to have access to your data.

TikTok and data privacy

We’ve mentioned that India has banned TikTok. This is because the company failed to offer reasonable explanations for the local government’s queries regarding its data use policy. Similar threats were made in the US when the Trump administration discussed the possibility of a nationwide ban and ended up signing a separate executive order that essentially forced the sale of TikTok to Oracle and Walmart.

Many of the privacy-related concerns have to do with TikTok’s popularity among younger audiences, who are more vulnerable to data privacy violations. The fact that TikTok is a video-based platform surely doesn’t help keep parents worldwide calm. The UK’s former Children’s Commissioner filed a claim on behalf of millions of children in the EU and UK, stating excessive data collection policies.

A few other things worth noting

Removing all your TikTok data is quite the process.

  • Remember that since TikTok is an app, you must delete both the app and your profile. Simply removing an app from your device doesn’t delete the data from the company’s servers.
  • TikTok’s privacy policy mentions that after completing the above process, your account will be in a deactivated status for 30 days before it is deleted.
  • While your in-app messaging data will be deleted automatically, you may have to file a data deletion request to remove other types of information from the company’s databases.
  • Still, some information may live forever. Videos that were made public can still be available if anyone recorded them, and messages sent to other users will continue to exist on their devices.

With Mine, you can discover companies that have access to your private information and manage your data independently. That’s easier than learning any TikTok dance.